Relationship

BBChand holding

Stand secure in your relationship with Him…..

 A friend said something to me the other day that quickened my spirit.  She was concerned that praying off handedly, or falling asleep while praying was not showing the proper reverence toward God.  As I thought about the ways God had commanded Moses and others to relate to Him in the Old Testament I began to have a sinking feeling so I ran straight to my Abba!  I asked Him for forgiveness for all the times I’d ever offended Him or not shown enough respect, and I asked for a greater understanding of His holiness.  Then, feeling like He lovingly gave me a pat on the head and a sucker, I trotted on into our morning Bible time.

 The great I Am, the God of creation is my Abba!  I’m His beloved child….who has a lot of growing to do.   He is the ultimate parent.  He knows exactly what I need and has actually already given me everything I need for the life He created me to live.    He already gave His Son for me, the greatest gift ever given.  Then He gave me the Holy Spirit who, not meaning to be irreverent but following this line of thinking, is the ultimate Super Nanny to guide, comfort, protect, and grow me into the image of His first born Son.  He……loves me……that much!  He cares about every detail.  I am His beloved.  He looks at me with an absolute love so is there any reason I shouldn’t run adoringly into His throne room?  My heart just tightened in my chest as He tells me, “No, there is NO reason.”!

 Why didn’t I know this earlier?  Why have I spent so much of my life not seeing God as He really is, and not understanding how He sees me?  I’m precious in His sight.  I hate to think of the areas of my life that I tried to keep separate, to hide from my relationship with God because I thought they had something to offer….independence, pleasure, self-fulfillment.  It would be devastating to recall all the time wasted in such self-centeredness if it weren’t for the joy and anticipation I have with these recent revelations, most importantly discovering my true identity in Christ. Now that I know, all the way to my core, that Abba knows me even more intimately that I know my own children, and that He gave up His Son for me personally, not just for me as one of His creation in general, I can actually have a real, living, current, vibrant, love relationship with a Father that I can’t see but I know is as real as anyone I CAN see. 

 If I have questions, I just ask Him directly.  If I want to know anything at all about Him, or want to love Him more, or have a deeper understanding of what and why Christ suffered on the cross and how it pertains to me, all I have to do is ask Him.  That’s it!  It’s that easy, not simple, just easy.  The answers may not be instantaneous, but He promises they will come, and He’s building my faith with each answer.  That’s why I write them down in a journal.  It is amazing to look back and see the interaction between my Father and me.  I ask, He answers.  I stumble, He holds my hand to keep me from falling on my face. 

                                                                   

The relationship has been there the entire time, ever since I accepted Christ at age 8, but I’ve taken it for granted and not really understood it at all.  It’s similar to the relationship I’ve had with my mom.  I took my mother’s love for granted until I had my own children.  Then, for the first time, I understood how I had broken her heart and grieved her on so many occasions with a careless word or thoughtless action, or even worse, when it was intentional.  I’m embarrassed to admit that for this self-centered individual, it took having children for me to understand a love so complete for which you’d give up your own life. 

 I thank God for giving me a better understanding of His love for me, and I thank Him for being real and powerful and full of lovingkindness and faithfulness.  I hope you have an intimate relationship with Him, but if you don’t and you would like to, just ask Him. 

 He gives to His beloved even in his sleep. (Psalm 127:2b)

 

Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence?

If I ascend to heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, Your are there.

If I take the wings of the dawn, if I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,

Even there Your hand will lead me, and Your right hand will lay hold of me. (Psalm 139:7-10)

 

 

The steps of a man are established by the Lord, and He delights in his way.

When He falls, he will not be hurled headlong, because the Lord is the One who holds his

Hand. (Psalm 37:23, 24)

 

(Luke 12:32)

Do not be afraid little flock, for your Father has gladly chosen to give you the Kingdom.

 

 (Gal 4:6)

Because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!’”

 (Rom 8:15-16)

“You did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, ‘Abba! Father!’  The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God”

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

