WIND

wind in trees

During my quiet time this morning Frances Chan in his study, Forgotten God, was asking why we don’t feel closer to the Holy Spirit if He indeed lives inside every believer?  He thinks one reason is that our lives are too noisy and asks when was the last time you sat with no distractions of any kind, in total quiet?

When I sit quietly God makes Himself known to me so perfectly in the wind.  This morning I could hear at one moment, His power in the rustling leaves of the trees outside my door and in the next moment, the soft sound of chimes.  The breeze is a gentle and comforting caress on my skin making me so aware of His presence that I inhale deeply and realize that His loving presence is also His life giving presence.  He fills me up.  He’s all around me.  He’s the very air inside my lungs.  He gives me life and sustains me with every breath I take.  He’s always with me and always in me.  I can’t see Him, but I can hear Him and feel Him……if…… I pause a moment and tune out the noise.

I think Frances Chan is right when he says most of us take our closest relationships for granted.  Most of us probably take breathing for granted.  We just breathe without ever giving thought to it. 

I recently held the hand of my brother-in-law as he struggled to take his last breaths in this life.  The cancer that started in his colon had spread and was also in his lungs causing him great distress.  It was so hard to watch and not be able to offer any relief.  The remembrance of it causes me to take a deep breath even now.  After a few heart wrenching moments, my brother-in-law took two very peaceful breaths and left this world and his next breath was in the presence of God in paradise!   This man did not walk closely with the Lord for most of his life and it was reflected in his personal relationships.   In the end though, he made it clear that he was going home to be with His Savior. 

I don’t want to live my short time on this earth not knowing the Holy Spirit.   I want to know the truths of God so that I don’t put up obstacles that keep me from loving Him and receiving the love He freely gives to me.  The great thing is that God wants the same things for me and for you.   He longs to be the deepest, most personal relationship of our life. 

Abba! Father!  Please help us to be aware of your presence with every breath we take.  Let us be aware of your power with every gust of wind, and help us to feel your comfort in every gentle breeze.  Help us to tune out the noise that keeps us from hearing You every moment.   In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Image | This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WIND

  1. carladillard says:

    Beautiful!!!!!

    Cuan grande es nuestro Dios! Carla Dillard Sent from my iPhone

    On Oct 19, 2013, at 7:47 AM, Love’s Walk wrote:

    WordPress.com loveswalk posted: “During my quiet time this morning Frances Chan in his study, Forgotten God, was asking why we dont feel closer to the Holy Spirit if He indeed lives inside every believer? He thinks one reason is that our lives are too noisy and asks when was the last t”

Leave a Reply

